Revenger (John Shakespeare #2)

Author(s): Rory Clements

Historical Fiction

From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes REVENGER, the second in his acclaimed bestselling John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. 'Does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times 1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex. Essex is the brightest star in the firmament, a man of ambition. He woos the Queen, thirty-three years his senior, as if she were a girl his age. She is flattered by him - despite her loathing for his mother, the beautiful, dangerous Lettice Knollys who presides over her own glittering court - a dazzling array of the mad, bad, dangerous and disaffected.
When John Shakespeare infiltrates this dissolute world he discovers not only that the Queen herself is in danger - but that he and his family is also a target. With only his loyal footsoldier Boltfoot Cooper at his side, Shakespeare must face implacable forces who believe themselves above the law: men and women who kill without compunction. And in a world of shifting allegiances, just how far he can trust Robert Cecil, his devious new master?

$24.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Revenger (John Shakespeare 2) For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, REVENGER is the fourth in chronological order of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times

Winner of CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award 2010.

'A cracking plot full of twists right up to the last minute. I look forward to the next' -- Sunday Express 'Beautifully done ... alive and tremendously engrossing' -- Daily Telegraph 'A colourful history lesson ... exciting narrative twists' -- Sunday Telegraph 'Enjoyable, bloody and brutish' -- Guardian 'An engrossing thriller' -- Washington Post 'An excellent debut' -- Publishers Weekly 'This is a historical thriller to send a shiver down your spine...atmospheric- the evocation of the filth and debauchery of London is quite exceptional- it demonstrates the compelling eye for detail and character that Bernard Cornwall so memorably brought to Rifleman Sharpe. I could not tear myself away, it is that good.' -- Daily Mail

Rory Clements has had a long and successful newspaper career including being Features Editor and Associate Editor of Today, Editor of the Daily Mail's Good Health Pages and, most recently, Editor of the health section at the Evening Standard He is now writing full time in an idyllic corner of Norfolk.

General Fields

  • : 9781848540859
  • : Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • : John Murray Publishers Ltd
  • : February 2011
  • : 205mm X 143mm X 30mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Rory Clements
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 464