Product detail

The Wren Hunt

The Wren Hunt

Author: Mary Watson
$16.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

'Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy' MELINDA SALISBURY
'Watson 's writing has the sort of poise rarely found in a debut' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE
'Thrilling and otherworldly' SUNDAY TIMES

Every winter, Wren Silke is chased through the forest in a warped version of a childhood game. The boys who haunt her are judges, powerful and frightening pursuers, who know nothing of her true identity. If they knew she was an augur, their sworn enemy, the game would turn deadly.
But Wren is on the hunt, too. Sent undercover as an intern to the Harkness Foundation enemy headquarters her family's survival rests on finding a secret meant to stay hidden. As the enmity between two ancient magics reaches breaking point, Wren is torn between old loyalties and new lies. And trapped in the most dangerous game of her life.
Part thriller, part love story, this captivating debut novel will leave readers spellbound.

Promotion info

Part thriller, part love story, this captivating debut novel about a girl caught in a battle between two ancient magics will appeal to readers of Frances Hardinge and Alice Broadway

Reviews

The most superb collection of character and fantasy and love and landscape I have read since Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights * Hilary McKay * Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy ... An absolutely stunning mix of myth and legend and family saga. I haven't stopped thinking about it * Melinda Salisbury * The Wren Hunt rings with ancient, subtle magic, masterfully transmuted into words. A tale that gets into your bones * Samantha Shannon * [I have] fallen under the spell of The Wren Hunt, a beautifully written story and unlike anything I have read ... Magical and real * Jenny McLachlan * A beautiful mix of myth and magic and discovering the path you want to tread. * Karen Gregory * Folklore, secrets, betrayal, magic, forbidden love and dark discoveries. Eerie, atmospheric, seductive and completely captivating * Katherine Webber *

Author description

Mary Watson is from Cape Town and now lives on the West Coast of Ireland with her husband and three young children. Highlights of her adult writing career include being awarded the Caine Prize for African Writing in Oxford in 2006, and being included on the Hay Festival's 2014 Africa39 list of influential writers from sub-Saharan Africa.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408884935
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Children's Books
  • : February 2018
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : [Fic]
  • : 416
  • : Mary Watson
  • : Paperback
  • : 2018