Product detail

The Starman and Me

The Starman and Me

Author: Sharon Cohen
$19.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond He wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ...except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth. Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted...Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down. Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...T HE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Author description

Sharon Cohen loves to explore themes of 'ancient' and 'cutting edge' and intertwines these elements into her stories. After graduating with a first-class science degree and a doctorate earned catching swans and studying their parasites, Sharon became a scientific writer. Her passion for children's fiction emerged following the birth of her first son and she completed the Open University Children's Literature course, gaining a distinction. She has three children and lives with her husband, an ex-international sprinter. THE STARMAN AND ME is her debut novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781786540089
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Quercus Children's Books
  • : July 2016
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sharon Cohen
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 304