Mark Knopfler: Privateering

Music CDs and Audiobooks

[ Mercury Records U.K. / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 6 September 2012


Legendary guitarist / singer / songwriter, Mark Knopfler presents 'Privateering', the seventh album of his solo career.

'Privateering' is Mark Knopfler's seventh album of his solo career (having also recorded many soundtracks and collaborations since his days leading the hugely successful group, Dire Straits). 20 new songs were recorded at the artist's British Grove Studios in London with the following players: Richard Bennett (guitar), Jim Cox (piano) Guy Fletcher (keyboards), John McCusker (fiddle) and Mike McGoldrick (whistle and flute), Glenn Worf (bass) and Ian Thomas (drums).

In addition to what has become Mark's long-time house band, hand-picked guest aces include Kim Wilson (harmonica) of the Fabulous Thunderbirds, Tim O'Brien (mandolin), singer Ruth Moody of The Wailin' Jennys, Paul Franklin (pedal steel) and Scotland's Phil Cunningham (accordion).

Produced by Mark and assisted by co-producers Chuck Ainlay and Guy Fletcher, 'Privateering' is the guitarist / singer / songwriter's first double-disc of originals. The myriad of pieces cover a wide variety of subjects seen through the eyes of many characters, evoking locations on both sides of the Atlantic and moving through a number of genres, including several blues tunes.


Disc 1:
1. Redbud Tree
2. Haul Away
3. Don't Forget Your Hat
4. Privateering
5. Miss You Blues
6. Corned Beef City
7. Go, Love
8. Hot or What
9. Yon Two Crows
10. Seattle

Disc 2:
1. Kingdom Of Gold
2. Got To Have Something
3. Radio City Serenade
4. I Used To Could
5. Gator Blood
6. Bluebird
7. Dream Of The Drowned Submariner
8. Blood And Water
9. Today Is Okay
10. After The Bean Stalk


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 602537079353
  • : Ode Records
  • : Ode Records
  • : books