The End of Sparta: A Novel

Author(s): Victor Davis Hanson

Historical Fiction

In this sweeping and deeply imagined historical novel, acclaimed classicist Victor Davis Hanson re-creates the battles of one of the greatest generals of ancient Greece, Epaminondas. At the Battle of Leuktra, his Thebans crushed the fearsome army of Sparta that had enslaved its neighbors for two centuries. We follow these epic historical events through the eyes of Melon, a farmer who has left his fields to serve with Epaminondas-swept up, against his better judgment, in the fever to spread democracy even as he yearns to return to his pastoral hillside. With a scholar's depth of knowledge and a novelist's vivid imagination, Hanson re-creates the ancient world down to its intimate details-from the weight of a spear in a soldier's hand to the peculiar camaraderie of a slave and master who go into battle side by side. The End of Sparta is a stirring drama and a rich, absorbing reading experience.

$36.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Now in paperback: The fiction debut from celebrated historian Victor Davis Hanson-an epic novel of war and freedom in ancient Greece, in the tradition of Gates of Fire and Fire from Heaven.

I have never read another book which explains so well the truth that 'war lies in the dark hearts of us all' but that history offers hope William Shawcross on THE FATHER OF US ALL Few writers cover both current events and history--and none with the brilliance and erudition of Victor Davis Hanson... Max Boot on THE FATHER OF US ALL Enthralling ... One closes this book wishing that its final verdict was as well known as more familiar tenets of Greek wisdom. Christopher Hitchens on THE WESTERN WAY OF WAR Vivid ... ambitious ... Challenges readers to broaden their horizons and examine their assumptions... [Hanson] more than makes his case. NYTBR on CARNAGE AND CULTURE Hanson performs the difficult feat of not talking down to readers while still presuming no prior knowledge of the war. Washington Post on A WAR LIKE NO OTHER

Victor Davis Hanson is the Martin and Illie Anderson Senior Fellow in Residence in Classics and Military History at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, a professor of Classics Emeritus at California State University, Fresno, and a nationally syndicated columnist for Tribune Media Services. His many books include the acclaimed The Father of Us All, A War Like No Other, The Western Way of War, Carnage and Culture, and Ripples of Battle.

General Fields

  • : 9781608193547
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Press
  • : July 2013
  • : 235mm X 155mm X 29mm
  • : United States
  • : August 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : B&W maps
  • : Victor Davis Hanson
  • : Paperback
  • : 813.6
  • : 464