The New Smithsonian Book of Comic Book Stories: From Crumb to Clowes (American Remainders)

Author(s): Bob Callahan

Graphic Novels

A panorama of some of the most creative and subversive art of our times, this one-of-a-kind anthology celebrates the artistry and insight of comic book art, graphic novels, and graphic journalism from the 1960s to the present. Classics such as R. Crumb's "I Remember the Sixties," Stan Lee and Steve Ditko's "Spider-Man" saga "The Final Chapter," and Dan Clowes's "Caricature" are featured, plus new sequences of work by Chris Ware and Ben Katchor created exclusively for this volume. The book is divided into four main galleries: Underground Comics, Silver Age Super Heroes, A Raw Generation, and Dark Fiction and Deep Fantasy, and includes a special supplement of four-color work by Lynda Barry and others as well. In his lively introduction, Bob Callahan celebrates the achievements of American comic book art from the late 1930s to the present. An indispensable collection.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"Bob Callahan's book brilliantly records comics' coming of age. A necessary introduction to the maturity of the medium."--Will Eisner

Bob Callahan is editor of "The New Comics Anthology," the original "Kollected Krazy Kat" (with Bill Blackbeard), and, with Art Spiegelman, the "Neon Lit Graphic Novel Library." The author of "The Dark Hotel," he lives in Berkely, CA.

General Fields

  • : 9781588341839
  • : Smithsonian Books
  • : Smithsonian Books
  • : 1.833
  • : September 2004
  • : 285mm X 218mm X 34mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Bob Callahan
  • : Hardback
  • : 741.50973
  • : 400
  • : illustrations