Wild Strawberries

Author(s): Angela Thirkell; Alexander McCall Smith (Introduction by)

General Fiction

A witty romp through English Country-house life at its most delightfully absurd. At Rushwater House in West Barsetshire, Lady Emily Leslie and her family are entertaining an assortment of house guests, hangers-on, and French monarchists. Amid a perfect welter of rapturous embraces and moonlight madness, a marriage is finally arranged. A glittering summer party provides an hilarious climax to the various intrigues.

$29.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A sparkling 1930s English romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson, Angela Thirkell's classic Wild Strawberries is now available as a Virago Modern Classic.

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) wrote many works of fiction and non-fiction, including twenty-nine 'Barsetshire novels', which won her great popularity and acclaim. The first of these, High Rising, was published in 1933. Her relatives included Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her godfather was JM Barrie. She was twice married and had four children.

General Fields

  • : 9781844088843
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Virago Press
  • : 0.208652
  • : November 2012
  • : 198mm X 125mm X 19mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Angela Thirkell; Alexander McCall Smith (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.912
  • : 288