The Summer of Broken Stories

Author(s): James Wilson

General Fiction

England, 1950s. While out playing in the woods, ten-year-old Mark meets a man living in an old railway carriage. Despite his wild appearance, the stranger, who introduces himself as Aubrey Hillyard, is captivating - an irreverent outsider who is shunned by Mark's fellow villagers, and a writer to boot. Aubrey encourages Mark to tell stories about his own make-believe world, and in return he informs the boy about a novel he is writing - a work of ominous science fiction.As the meddling villagers plot to drive Aubrey out, Mark finds himself caught between two worlds - yet convinced that he must help Aubrey prevail at any cost. Dealing with powerful themes of friendship, rebellion and betrayal, The Summer of Broken Stories is James Wilson's long-awaited new novel.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"Wilson has a gifted, original voice." The Daily Telegraph

Born in Cambridge and educated at Oxford, James Wilson now lives in London and Normandy. He is the author of four acclaimed novels - The Dark Clue, The Bastard Boy, The Woman in the Picture and Consolation - as well as a work of narrative non-fiction, The Earth Shall Weep: A History of Native America.

General Fields

  • : 9781846883934
  • : Alma Books Ltd
  • : Alma Books Ltd
  • : March 2016
  • : 198mm X 128mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : James Wilson
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.92
  • : 300