The Ladies' Lending Library

Author(s): Janice Kulyk Keefer

General Fiction

In the tradition of The Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Steel Magnolias, "The Ladies Lending Library" is a bittersweet tale of mothers, daughters, friends and lovers across the long, languorous summer of 1963.In the summer of 1963, the year of the sensational release of the film "Cleopatra", the women of Ontario's Kalyna Beach prepare for their annual end-of-season party. With their husbands away in the city all week, the women's days are ruled by the predictable rhythms of children and chores, lightened by the 'racy' books they trade amongst themselves and by their Friday afternoon gatherings for gin and gossip.But this is the summer when everything will change for the girls and women of Kalyna Beach, as innocence is exchanged for a new understanding of the possibilities open to them all.

$37.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"* 'The Ladies' Lending Library satisfies in the way the best sort of summer reading does - like wild strawberries, or blueberries gathered in the sun, or cold spring water gulped on a hot day.' Quill & Quire (Canada) * 'Kulyk Keefer's narrative has historical and generational sweep... A masterful rendering of a group of women in crisis.' National Post (Canada)"

Janice Kulyk Keefer is an internationally published author who has twice been shortlisted for Canada's Governor General's Award. This is her first novel to be published in the UK.

General Fields

  • : 9781843547488
  • : 40543
  • : 40543
  • : February 2009
  • : 216mm X 138mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Janice Kulyk Keefer
  • : Paperback
  • : 813.54
  • : 320