High Rising

Author(s): Angela Thirkell; Alexander McCall Smith (Introduction by)

General Fiction

Successful lady novelist Laura Morland and her boisterous young son Tony set off to spend Christmas at her country home in the sleepy surrounds of High Rising. But Laura's wealthy friend and neighbour George Knox has taken on a scheming secretary whose designs on marriage to her employer threaten the delicate social fabric of the village. Can clever, practical Laura rescue George from Miss Grey's clutches and, what's more, help his daughter Miss Sibyl Knox to secure her longed-for engagement?

Utterly charming and very funny, High Rising is irresistible comic entertainment.

$29.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

The first of Angela Thirkell's brilliantly satirical English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, High Rising is now available as a Virago Modern Classic. Perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson.

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) wrote many works of fiction and non-fiction, including twenty-nine 'Barsetshire novels', which won her great popularity and acclaim. The first of these, High Rising, was published in 1933. Her relatives included Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her godfather was JM Barrie. She was twice married and had four children.

General Fields

  • : 9781844088836
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Virago Press
  • : 0.208652
  • : November 2012
  • : 196mm X 127mm X 19mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Angela Thirkell; Alexander McCall Smith (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 823/.912
  • : 288