Diane Arbus: A Chronology

Author(s): Diane Arbus

General Fiction

"Diane Arbus: A Chronology" is the closest thing possible to reading a contemporaneous diary by one of the most daring, influential, and controversial artists of the twentieth century. Drawn primarily from Arbuss extensive correspondence with friends, family, and colleagues; personal notebooks; and other unpublished writings, this beautifully produced volume exposes the private thoughts and motivations of an artist whose astonishing vision derived from the courage to see things as they are and the grace to permit them simply to be. Further rounding out Arbuss life and work are exhaustively researched footnotes that amplify the entire Chronology. A section at the end of the book provides biographies for fifty-five personalities, family members, friends, and colleagues, from Marvin Israel and Lisette Model to Weegee and August Sander. Describing the Chronology in Art in America, Leo Rubinfien noted that Arbus...wrote as well as she photographed, and her letters, where she heard each nuance of her words, were gifts to the people who received them. Once one has been introduced to it, the beauty of her spirit permanently changes and deepens ones understanding of her pictures...The texts in "Diane Arbus: A Chronology" originally appeared in Diane Arbus Revelations. This volume makes this invaluable text available in an accessible, paperback volume for the very first time.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781597111799
  • : Aperture Foundation, Incorporated
  • : Aperture
  • : 0.45
  • : September 2011
  • : 206mm X 163mm X 18mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Diane Arbus
  • : Paperback
  • : 1211
  • : English
  • : 770.92
  • : 192