The Obelisk Gate (#2 The Broken Earth)

Author(s): N. K. Jemisin


Winner of the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel Book 2 in the double Hugo-Award-winning trilogy The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night. Essun has found shelter, but not her missing daughter. Instead there is Alabaster Tenring, destroyer of the world, with a request only Essun can grant. Praise for this trilogy: 'Amazing' Ann Leckie 'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal 'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor 'Astounding' NPR 'Brilliant' Washington Post 'Heartbreaking, wholly unexpected' Brian Staveley 'Awesome' Book Smugglers 'A powerful story of hope and survival' The Root The Broken Earth trilogy begins with The Fifth Season, continues in The Obelisk Gate and concludes with The Stone Sky - out now.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Winner of Hugo Award Best Novel category 2017 (UK).

Exceptional ... those who anxiously awaited this sequel will find the only problem is that the wait must begin again once the last page is turned -- Library Journal (starred review) Utterly gripping ... extraordinary ... a complex and intricate world of warring powers, tangled morals, and twisting motivations -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author whose short fiction and novels have been multiply nominated for the Hugo, the World Fantasy Award, and the Nebula, shortlisted for the Crawford and the Tiptree, and have won the Locus Award. Her website is and she tweets at @nkjemisin.

General Fields

  • : 9780356508368
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Orbit Books
  • : 0.304
  • : June 2016
  • : 198mm X 134mm X 30mm
  • : August 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : N. K. Jemisin
  • : Paperback
  • : 617
  • : English
  • : 813/.6
  • : very good
  • : 448