Lord of the Darkwood (Tale of Shikanoko #3-4 Prequel to Otori)

Author(s): Lian Hearn


Like George R. R. Martin, Lian Hearn has captivated millions of readers worldwide with her masterpiece of imagination, TALES OF THE OTORI. Now, against a dazzling canvas of wild forest, elegant court and savage battlefield, she brilliantly brings to life the world that existed 300 years earlier. Hearn weaves an intricate tapestry - seething with intrigue, adventure and love - of two rival clans struggling over who will be crowned Emperor of the Eight Islands, in a medieval Japanese country inhabited by warriors, assassins, ghosts and guardian spirits. And as the laws of destiny play out their inexorable drama, so the battle for the Lotus Throne continues. LORD OF THE DARKWOOD is Books 3 and 4 in THE TALE OF SHIKANOKO and follows EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS (Books 1 and 2 in the series). Praise for EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS: 'huge imaginative vitality' SYDNEY MORNING HERALD 'a fitting follow-up to the Otori series' THE AGE 'colourful and fascinating characters' COURIER MAIL 'a must-read' AUREALIS 'stands alone for fine storytelling' WEST AUSTRALIAN 'sure to recruit a fresh legion of fans' THE SATURDAY PAPER


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

One of the most thrilling series of our time. - The Times on TALES OF THE OTORI The best story of magic, love, sex, revenge and suspense since Philip Pullman. - Independent on Sunday on TALES OF THE OTORI A classic in the making - Sydney Morning Herald on GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW An engrossing fantasy saga of literary quality. - The Age on TALES OF THE OTORI

Lian Hearn's beloved Tales of the Otori series, set in an imagined feudal Japan, has sold more than four million copies worldwide and has been translated into nearly forty languages. It is comprised of five volumes: ACROSS THE NIGHTINGALE FLOOR, GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW, BRILLIANCE OF THE MOON, THE HARSH CRY OF THE HERON and HEAVEN'S NET IS WIDE. The series was followed by two standalone novels, BLOSSOMS AND SHADOWS and THE STORYTELLER AND HIS THREE DAUGHTERS, also set in Japan. EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS is Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko and is followed by LORD OF THE DARKWOOD (Books 3 and 4). Lian has made many trips to Japan and has studied Japanese. She read Modern Languages at Oxford and worked as an editor and film critic in England before emigrating to Australia. For the latest news from Lian, visit lianhearn.com, follow Lian on Twitter @LianHearn, or join the readers who have become Lian's friend on Facebook.

General Fields

  • : 9780733635151
  • : Hachette Australia
  • : Hachette Australia
  • : June 2016
  • : 234mm X 154mm X 30mm
  • : Australia
  • : August 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lian Hearn
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 400