The Dragon's Gate

Author: Barry Wolverton
Homepage_9780062221940

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $14.99(NZD)
  • : 9780062221940
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • : Walden Pond Press
  • :
  • :
  • : November 2017
  • : 194mm X 130mm X 18mm
  • : United States
  • : 14.99
  • : January 2018
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : Barry Wolverton
  • : Chronicles of the Black Tulip
  • : Paperback
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : FIC
  • :
  • :
  • : 352
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9780062221940
9780062221940

Description

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic-this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton's Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery-this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon's Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China's first emperor-the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Author description

Barry Wolverton is the author of Neversink. He has more than fifteen years' experience creating books, documentary television scripts, and website content for international networks and publishers, including National Geographic, Scholastic.com, the Library of Congress, and the Discovery Networks. He lives in Memphis, Tennessee.