The Incarnations

Author(s): Susan Barker

General Fiction

I dream of us across the centuries, my love...I dream of Sorceress Wu splattering the walls with your blood. I dream of Genghis Khan and his Mongols, driving us with whips across the desert. I dream of the sickly Emperor Jiajing and our fellow tortured concubines. I dream of you kneeling before your captors in the Opium Wars, ready for death. I dream of you and me as Red Guards in the Cultural Revolution, our banners held high. The times we were friends, the times we were lovers and the times we wanted to kill each other...Now I dream of you again, Driver Wang. You don't know it yet, but soon I will make you dream of me.

$36.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A stunning tale of a Beijing taxi driver being pursued by his twin soul across a thousand years of Chinese history. For fans of David Mitchell and Ruth Ozeki

"An extraordinary novel. Erudite, intriguing and compulsively readable, THE INCARNATIONS takes the reader on an intimate and mesmerizing journey through Chinese history. Susan Barker, a born story-teller, has written one of the most remarkable novels of recent years." -- John Boyne

Susan Barker grew up in east London. While writing The Incarnationsshe spent several years living in Beijing, researching imperial andmodern China. She is currently based in Shenzhen, China.Follow her on Twitter @SusanKBarker

General Fields

  • : 9780857522580
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Doubleday
  • : July 2014
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 368
  • : Susan Barker
  • : Paperback